Xanathathar’s pg. 126, Buying a Magic Item: “+1 bonus on the check for every workweek beyond the first that is spent seeking a seller and a +1 bonus for maximum bonus of +10” +10 each or total?+10 total
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 28, 2017
Xanathar Guide Everything


Inquisitive’s Steady Eye ability – what about out of combat?
@JeremyECrawford Regarding the Inquisitive's Steady Eye ability – what about out of combat? The argument could be made that they would ALWAYS have advantage out of combat on those rolls. That seems too strong, don't you think?
— WraithKind (@Wraith_Kind) November 28, 2017
Steady Eye isn't limited to combat. Inquisitives are masters of their craft. #DnD https://t.co/suPHCdatU8
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 28, 2017

How would Beacon of Hope and Life Transference interact with each other?
@JeremyECrawford How would Beacon of Hope and Life Transference interact with each other?Would it max the damage you took and the healing? Or does it work for a spell like this. Thank you for all your hard work, and taking the time time to answer our questions.
— John Lacey Lundy (@LundyLacey) December 4, 2017
Beacon of hope has no effect on life transference. Beacon of hope maximizes healing rolls, not damage rolls. #DnD https://t.co/ESyQG3cHi4
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) December 5, 2017

New to light weapon fighting, does the Shadow Blade always cost a bonus action?
Nothing stops a warlock from wielding a light pact weapon in one hand and a shadow blade in the other. With that combination, you could attack twice with Thirsting Blade and make a bonus action attack with the shadow blade. I'm still confused, new to light weapon fighting. How is there an attack with bonus action? Thirsting Blade gives 2 attacks with pact weapon only. Does the Shadow Blade always cost a bonus action? Thought it was just a bonus to cast, and then you use like normal weapon.
— Travis Dvoracek (@LedeshHevent) November 15, 2017
Because the shadow blade is a light weapon, you can use it with the rule on two-weapon fighting in the Player's Handbook (see p. 195). #DnD https://t.co/myYUEigtRF
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 15, 2017
Cool as it sounds, doesn’t it only become a net gain of attacks on round 4? I wouldn't recommend casting shadow blade if your primary goal is to increase your number of attacks.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 15, 2017

How do the elven racial magic feats in Xanathar’s interact with spell slots?
How do the elven racial magic feats (Drow High Magic, Fey Teleportation and Wood Elf Magic) in Xanathar’s interact with spell slots? They say that you know the spells and can cast them without expending spell slots, so can you use spell slots with them?You have to follow your class's Spellcasting (or Pact Magic) rules to cast a spell using spell slots (e.g. A wizard has to prepare the spell from their spellbook.) See "Magic Initiate" in Sage Advice Compendium https://t.co/7u9NFqOjlb
— Armando Doval (@armando_doval) November 11, 2017
I understand the wording is different. The part that’s relevant is that you have to follow your class’s spellcasting rules. Wood Elf Magic, etc don’t say you learn the spell or that it counts as a
spell for you. If they didn't add "in this way" to those feats it'd sound like you can't cast them at all after using the feat. They're distinguishing the 1 use you get from the feat from other ways you might have to cast the spell. — Armando Doval (@armando_doval) December 5, 2017
Your interpretation is 100 percent correct, @armando_doval.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) December 5, 2017

Summon greater Demon, can a Focus be used to substitute for the material cost?
@JeremyECrawford Rules Question for Summon greater Demon. Can a Focus be used to substitute for the material cost (blood), since it has no cost and does not state consumed in the materials section? If so, can the caster still make the circle?
— Snowlio (@nix_zach) November 28, 2017
To create the circle in the summon lesser/greater demon spell, you need the blood mentioned in the spell's description. #DnD https://t.co/pNoD69gKb8
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 28, 2017

Does Slashing flourish mean you only deal extra damage to one other creature within 5ft
@JeremyECrawford
Slashing flourish use 'any other creature'. Does this mean you only deal extra damage to one other creature within 5ft or do you still damage each other creature like it does in UA?— xeno (@xenoexpert) November 26, 2017
"Any other creature" in Slashing Flourish means any other eligible creature—could be one or more. #DnD https://t.co/RCnLYklanK
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 27, 2017

Subtle Spell doesn’t remove material component, so a spell with “M” doesn’t benefit?
XGE has stated that perceiving a spell is dependent on the spell having a component. It further states that a feature removing the component requirements makes it imperceptible. Subtle Spell doesn’t remove material component, so a spell with “M” doesn’t benefit?That's correct.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 18, 2017