#DND fam – Arcane Archer; Curving Shot in Xanathars: Can be used every round for the cost of a bonus action cause all arrows fired from L or S Bow can be considered magical by 7th level? y/n? Yes.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) December 12, 2017
Xanathar Guide Everything
Dragon Hide feat + Barbarian oes the unarmored defense Con bonus stack with the feat’s natural AC 13?
@JeremyECrawford If a PC has taken the Dragon Hide feat and then later takes a level of barbarian, does the unarmored defense Con bonus stack with the feat’s natural AC 13? Or does it crate a “pick one” situation between the two effects?
— Mephit Man (@mephit_man) November 26, 2017
When the game gives you more than one way to set your AC, you pick which one to use. Any relevant bonuses and penalties are then applied. #DnD https://t.co/oiXHjURBXe
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 27, 2017
Since some spells have been upgraded in Xanathar Guide, which version should be used for AL?
@JeremyECrawford since some spells have been upgraded in XGtE, which version should be used for AL? E.g. Immolation's damage has increased
— June Yin Gan (@julybabyjune) November 14, 2017
The Elemental Evil Player's Companion will get updated soon to reflect changes in Xanathar's Guide. #DnD https://t.co/ou5z1dn46g
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 14, 2017
Is Life Transference spell intended that you can target yourself with it?
hello @JeremyECrawford, love the new spells in XGtE! But Life Transference wording makes me wonder – is it intended that you can target yourself with it? RAW seems to allow that.
— Philipp Mordashev (@PhilMordashev) November 27, 2017
The first sentence of life transference expresses how the spell works: "You sacrifice some of your health to mend another creature's injuries." That's someone else getting healed, not you. #DnD https://t.co/nao8LZ2cHu
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 28, 2017
Could I get some clarity on thieves tools and lockpicking. Do you need the tools?
@mikemearls @JeremyECrawford Could I get some clarity on thieves tools and lockpicking. Do you need the tools? Do you need proficiency?
— William McMahan (@wax_eagle) November 14, 2014
@wax_eagle @JeremyECrawford anyone can use tools, prof bonus adds if proficient. No tools, DM can say no check or disadvantage.
— Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) November 14, 2014
The specific always overrides the general.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 28, 2017
Earth Tremor Spell: I noticed this difference in the range and discription, can you clarify?
@JeremyECrawford #DnD Hi there, I noticed this difference in the range and discription of the Earth Tremor Spell. Can you clarify? pic.twitter.com/KR02PejquE
— Roberta Costa (@Demon32835) November 29, 2017
You cause a tremor in the ground within range. Range is 10 feet. Each creature other than you in that area…
But it doesn’t list an area. What you’re saying might be what’s intended but it’s not what’s written. “That area” refers to the ground within 10 feet of you.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) December 4, 2017
Can you expand on the reason for this change? It’s not consistent with rules in the PHB, and in this case, is super unhelpful in describing how the spell works (area having no antecedent). Thunderclap was changed similarly, but it still parses okayThe antecedent is in the first sentence: "the ground within range."
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) December 20, 2017
We have rules for “Area” and “Range”, though, and I think that’s the source of confusion here. “Each creature in contact with the ground within range” would be consistent with the thunderclap changes, and I think accomplishes the aim of the spell, if you’ll pardon my presumption. The word “area” often appears in our books in its normal English sense. We have no rules for that word. We have rules for areas of effect.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) December 20, 2017
Why does Invincible Conquest state the Paladin can make one additional attack when taking Attack action?
@JeremyECrawford In Xanathar's Oath of Conquest, why does Invincible Conquest state the 20th level Paladin can make one additional attack when taking Attack action? Does it stack on top of their existing extra attack or in place of it?
— Ryverwynd (@Ryverwynd) November 22, 2017
Invincible Conqueror says you can make an additional attack when you take the Attack action, and it means exactly that: an additional attack. The feature doesn't care what else you're doing with that action. #DnD https://t.co/PGhlw6U27j
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 22, 2017
Does the Distant Strike ability of the Horizon Walker provoke attacks of opportunities?
does the Distant Strike ability of the Horizon Walker provoke attacks of opportunities? (i.e. teleporting away from an enemy/enemies within 5ft of me)
and can I also use it to get out of restrained/grappled conditions? (i.e. entanglement spell)
— Darric (@ThoughtAndRant) November 18, 2017
The rule on opportunity attacks says whether teleporting provokes (PH, 195). Spoiler: It doesn't.
The grappled condition tells you what happens if you escape the reach of a grappling effect (PH, 290). Spoiler: You're no longer grappled. #DnD https://t.co/8ymoY5Ez6d
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 18, 2017
