Hello – Xanathars fighting spirit for samurai is ‘Long rest’ a misprint? It was previously short rest in UA. Thanks :)It's a long rest.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 22, 2017
Xanathar Guide Everything


If someone dies from reaching rank 6 of exhaustion from Sickening Radiance, they remain dead from hitting that point even after the spell ends?
@JeremyECrawford If someone dies from reaching rank 6 of exhaustion from the new spell "Sickening Radiance", they remain dead from hitting that point even after the spell ends and removes all exhaustion it caused, right?
— josh woodford (@joshwoodferd) November 10, 2017
Sickening radiance doesn’t raise people from the dead. #DnD https://t.co/zWJ8u9buJ4
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 10, 2017

Is piercing arrow considered an ‘attack’?
@JeremyECrawford @SageAdviceDnD XtE is an amazing book and has created just as many amazing questions. Here's mine: is piercing arrow considered an 'attack'?
— GabeinGames (@GabeinGames) November 30, 2017
The text of Piercing Arrow refers to the attack that delivers it. That means it's part of an attack, even though it doesn't involve an attack roll. It's exceptional that way. #DnD https://t.co/LriCoqQBWv
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) December 1, 2017

Does a Rakshasa’s ‘Limited Magic Immunity’ protect it from weapons enhanced by Shillelagh?
@JeremyECrawford Hi Jeremy, does a Rakshasa's 'Limited Magic Immunity' protect it from weapons enhanced by shillelagh or the magic weapon spell since they are spell effects?
— Giles (@GilesWater) November 20, 2017
Shillelagh and magic weapon are spells. Limited Magic Immunity prevents a rakshasa from being affected by spells of 6th level or lower, unless it wishes to be. #DnD https://t.co/I2yAzZwzW5
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 21, 2017

Does Slayer’s Prey mean I can use it as many times as I’d like per short rest, but only on one creature at a time?
Can I get a quick clarification on the Monster Slayer’s ability Slayer’s Prey? Does the final sentence mean I can use it as many times as I’d like per short or rest, but only on one creature at a time? That's correct.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 27, 2017

Toll the Dead spell, Does 1d12 dmg mean they do not get a save if they are missing health?
Toll the Dead says “The target must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or take 1d8 necrotic damage. If the target is missing any of its hit points, it instead takes 1d12 necrotic damage.” Does this mean they do not get a save if they are missing health? That means they take 1d12 instead of 1d8 if they fail the save.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 28, 2017

Surprise rules, does a character even have a reaction to take before the start of their first turn? I
Looking at the Surprise rules, I wonder, does a character even have a reaction to take before the start of their first turn? I don't have XGtE in front of me.
— Heath Belden (@HeathBelden) November 14, 2017
A number of effects in the game deprive you of the ability to take reactions: being surprised or incapacitated, for example. If you're not suffering such an effect, you can take a reaction before your first turn in a combat. #DnD https://t.co/tfkNchP4xx
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 14, 2017

Are the non damaging effects from Sickening Radiance (exhaustion and no invisibility) tie to the save?
Yes.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 10, 2017