@GHavenRhow will Green Flame Blade work with a polearm master bladelock? Cantrip, attack, then bonus action with halberd blunt end?
don't have book with me, but unless the feat requires you to take the attack action it should work
— Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) October 14, 2015
scag
Green-Flame Blade’s secondary target damage
@JeremyECrawford Is it intentional that the Green Flame Blade's secondary target damage is unavoidable if in range? Bypasses AC, no save?
— Sean (@Lord_Sicarious) November 5, 2015
Green-flame blade—there is, indeed, no attack roll against or save for the 2nd creature. #DnD https://t.co/Cj1JmICH5u
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 5, 2015
Green-Flame Blade spell
@JeremyECrawford @mikemearls @Rick___Deckard The question is now: Can Greenflame can be used here in place of PM's OA when they enter reach?
— calebrus44 (@calebrus44) October 7, 2015
Without a feature like the War Caster feat, a spell can never be cast in place of an opportunity attack. #DnD https://t.co/e4PIrcOEEC
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) October 7, 2015
Does Spell Sniper feat grant 10 ft range to touch spells?
@JeremyECrawford If a spellcaster takes the Spell Sniper feat, does the range increase apply to touch spells, granting them a 10 foot range?
— Reece Elmore (@Vaaldin) December 8, 2015
The Spell Sniper feat doesn't lengthen your limbs. #DnD https://t.co/0mIgdeYQgO
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) December 8, 2015
@CMSLOPOrion @Vaaldin think he was thinking that they became ranged attacks i.e. ranged touch attacks from 3e They don't.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) December 8, 2015
@JeremyECrawford @Vaaldin on that note though, why are touch attacks affected by armor in 5e?
— Chris Martin (@CMSLOPOrion) December 8, 2015
Stoppable by armor? That's an attack. Not stoppable by armor? That usually requires a saving throw. #DnD https://t.co/sSqIFc4v9n
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) December 9, 2015
@exentrik137 @VaaldinDoes it extend things like green flame blade to reach weapons, though? It does.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) December 9, 2015
Does the Arcana domain give the cleric 2 more cantrips along with the 3 that you start with?
@Sealab2015does the arcana domain give the cleric 2 more cantrips(wizard) along with the 3 that you start with? It sure does!
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 12, 2015
Green-Flame Blade: Do you use your melee attack mod or spell attack mod ??
@JeremyECrawford with the green flame blade spell . Do you use your melee attack mod or spell attack mod ?
— Amphieuss (@Amphieuss) December 11, 2015
Spellcasting modifier is used for a spell attack, as in ray of frost. No spell attack in green-flame blade. #DnD https://t.co/6SflFv3Akf
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) December 11, 2015
@JeremyECrawford so with Green flame and booming blade you use your melee attack mod even though it's a spell.?
— Amphieuss (@Amphieuss) December 11, 2015
Take a look at ray of frost. See "spell attack"? Green-flame blade and booming blade don't say that. #DnD https://t.co/ccC4PR8ANE
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) December 11, 2015
@clancey70 @JeremyECrawfordSo Green-flame blade does not count as a magic attack as far as hitting subjects with mundane attack resistance/immunity? The extra damage from Green-Flame Blade is magical. The weapon damage depends on the weapon, not the cantrip.
— Nate (@Daeva001) January 15, 2016
This rules answer is so on-target that I'm retweeting it! #DnD https://t.co/94XrEPZiiN
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) January 15, 2016
If my Green-Flame Blade is Counterspelled, do I still get to make a normal melee attack
@JeremyECrawford #Dnd if my Green Flame Blade is Counterspelled, do I still get to make a normal melee attack or is it "counterspelled" too?
— Andrea Back (@VyrelionAB) April 17, 2016
No part of a countered spell occurs. That's the purpose of counterspell. #DnD https://t.co/XPgZvoAHaT
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) April 17, 2016
@kam2112 @VyrelionABthe weapon is listed as a material component The weapon is, indeed, a material component. The attack is not.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) April 17, 2016
@SennSationalistThat’s not intuitive to me. My reading of SCAG cantrips is that the user makes a weapon atk which applies the spell effect. If the attack could be disentangled from the spell's effect, the attack would be a component, not part of the effect.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) April 17, 2016
@SennSationalist Alright. The wording is pretty unclear on that front for the cantrips, and the concept of a spell causing a melee atk too. Those cantrips are purposefully unusual. Unlike smite spells, the cantrips incorporate a weapon attack in the spell effect.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) April 17, 2016
@SennSationalist I totally buy your ruling, but it seems to mean that Booming Blade is now controlling user’s arm and causing it to atk. The casting sets up the attack. With counterspell, you foil that setup and anything that would have followed it.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) April 17, 2016
@SennSationalistBut balance-wise it does makes sense for a 3rd level spell to 100% counter a cantrip. Exactly.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) April 17, 2016
Can Booming Blade and Green-Flame Blade used with a whip?
@JeremyECrawford Booming Blade and Green-Flame Blade can't be used with whip at 10 feet reach… RAI?
— Jacob Matthews (@NADRIGOL) November 2, 2015
The booming blade and green-flame blade cantrips intentionally have a range of 5 feet. #DnD https://t.co/ckMMxmNowp
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 4, 2015
@DaganevIs Green-Flame Blade intentionally unable to take advantage of the Whip’s reach property? The spell does, indeed, have a range of 5 feet.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 8, 2015
@jprepo1 @Daganev I am quite confused why the spell was designed this way, in a way that punishes users of reach weapons A reach weapon interacts with the spell the same way a non-reach melee weapon does: by targeting someone 5 feet away.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) January 9, 2016
@jprepo1 @Daganevsorry, I guess I’m confused, I read the tweet to mean the cantrip couldn’t be used with reach due to range The spell targets someone 5 ft. away, and a reach weapon can target someone 5 ft. away.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) January 9, 2016
@JeremyECrawford @Daganev damn character limits, whip has 10ft, but need to be w/in 10ft of target to use whip w/, say, green flame blade
— James RePass (@jprepo1) January 9, 2016
@jprepo1 @Daganevok, have a disappointed whip using blade singer to show this to. Thanks for the response, To be 100 percent clear, a whip does work with the spell at a 5 ft. range.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) January 9, 2016
@jprepo1 @Daganev got it, just doesnt work at the 10ft of the whip due to the 5ft range limit on the spell? That's correct.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) January 9, 2016
@JeremyECrawford What if he had the Spell Sniper feat? The spell requires an attack roll, would its range thus be 10ft, allowing the whip?
— Dungarth (@Dungarth) November 8, 2015
Spell Sniper does work green-flame blade. #DnD https://t.co/6tuswXB53e
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) November 9, 2015
