@bjrollet @mikemearlsis a barbarian allowed to choose 2 different totem animals? Ex. Bear at 3 and then eagle at 6? Yep! "You can choose the same animal you selected at 3rd level or a different one" (page 50).
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) September 10, 2014


The Restrained Condition allow casters to use Somatic component or not?
@WolfHunter83The Restrained Condition allow casters to use Somatic component or not? The choise is up to the DM according to the situation? depends on situation and nature of restraint
— Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) September 11, 2014

Errata, Warlock quick build – Ray of Sickness is not a Warlock spell
@gregbilsland PHB pg. 106 – Warlock quick build – Ray of Sickness is not a Warlock spell.
— Daniel C. Fischer (@Drago95) September 9, 2014
@gregbilsland @Drago95 Yeah, ray of sickness shouldn't be there. Charm person is a good substitute.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) September 10, 2014

Does attacking 2 handed negate shield’s bonus to AC?
@thewissenMr. Mearls, does attacking 2 handed negate shield’s bonus to AC? Can I wear shield with 2 handed weapon? can't use shield and two hander – drop or stow it
— Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) September 11, 2014

Is there a reason why sheathing -> drawing –> attacking is 1 action but drawing 2 weapons and attacking is 2?
@West_Thijs_23Dear Jeremy, is there a reason why sheathing -> drawing –> attacking is 1 action but drawing 2 weapons and attacking is 2? Without a special feature or feat, an Attack action could include sheathing or drawing a weapon, not both.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) September 10, 2014

If the PCs win initiative, can the dragon use legendary actions before his first turn?
@GX_Sigma @jeffstrainIf the PCs win initiative, can the dragon use legendary actions before his first turn? do not believe so
— Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) September 11, 2014

Does Discipline of Life works on Goodberry granting every goodberry additional HP?
@Plaguescarred @mikemearlsHola gents! Quick question, does Discipline of Life works on Goodberry granting every goodberry additional HP? I would allow it.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) September 10, 2014
@Plaguescarred @mikemearlsAnd could you eat more than one berry with the same action even if It says one berry and it nourrish you? The intent for the spell is only one berry per action.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) September 12, 2014

Not clear on meaning of ‘initiative count 20′ for lair actions
@jeffstrainNot clear on meaning of ‘initiative count 20 (losing all ties)’ for lair actions. treat it as if its initiative is 20, but it goes after anyone/thing that also has a 20
— Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) September 10, 2014
@jeffstrainSorry still not following. Does a creature need to roll initiative of 20 to use its lair action? nope – the lair is basically a separate entity that activates each round on 20
— Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) September 10, 2014
@jeffstrain say green dragon w/lair action rolls initiative and gets a 12. DM counts down initiative as normal, on 20 lair action activates
— Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) September 10, 2014
@jeffstrain dragon then goes on 12, repeat each round
— Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) September 10, 2014
@mikemearls It’s ‘counts down initiative’ that’s throwing me. You roll initiative once per combat, right? Do you mean the 20th turn?
— Jeff Strain (@jeffstrain) September 10, 2014
@jeffstrainAh! Just got it! The lair effectively rolls a 20 for purposes of determining initiative, and acts separately from the creature. bingo
— Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) September 10, 2014
@jeffstrain blah – probably one for the FAQ.
— Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) September 10, 2014