@KirillHarchevMulticlass Fighter / Monk – would the scimitar (1-handed + finesse) count as a monk weapon for purposes of Martial Arts? only if included specifically on the monk class's list. That said, any d6 melee weapon works fine
— Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) May 7, 2016
@KirillHarchevContradiction here: scimitar is d6 melee so it’s fine by your judgement, but not on monk list. Am I right to consider it counts? yes – that's mainly an issue of flavor and history.
— Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) May 11, 2016