Does power surge deal extra damage to multiple targets with area of effect spells?

5 thoughts on “Does power surge deal extra damage to multiple targets with area of effect spells?

  1. D. Walker says:

    “My tweet about Power Surge is only about Power Surge.”

    I don’t even know how to respond to this. What in the hell is wrong with this man?

    Insisting that the rules you write operate precisely as written, and then claiming that two identically written rules operate in different ways because they are rules for different aspects of the game is not just absurd; it is not just asinine; it is actually approaching literal insanity.

    This is the problem with their whole philosophy of “if the rules meant something else, they’d say it”. It requires a level of logical perfection on the part of the rules-writers that very few people have.

    That alone would just be incredibly and indescribeably obnoxious. But to then have people point out your inevitable failures and imperfections, and for you to dismiss them out of hand? That is the height of arrogance and stupidity.

    More and more, I get the overwhelming sense that 5E has not managed to succeed because of Jeremy Crawford’s work on the rules, but rather DESPITE his involvement. The man gives every impression of being both a pompous ass and a total nitwit.

  2. Joni says:

    Entirely agree with D. Walker.

    “Hey here’s a chance to make a terrible ability somewhat useful.”
    “No, that would be stupid.” says Crawford.

    Furthermore, it also makes very little thematic sense that out of a blast of a fireball you somehow control the magic to affect only one of those creatures with a POWER surge.

    Also you don’t target any creature with a fireball. So I argue that you affect the target location increasing the damage to all who are hit. Take that, Crawford.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.