Does Thirsting Blade (Warlock) stack with Extra Attack?

7 thoughts on “Does Thirsting Blade (Warlock) stack with Extra Attack?

  1. dchue says:

    As a Warlock Fighter, if I use Action Surge to take another Attack action, can I use Thirsting Blade again to attack twice for a total of 4? (TB says “whenever you take the Attack action on your turn”) Thanks!

  2. Rodrigo Fernandes says:

    I have dual weapon, my first atack is with a normal weapon, so i can use the fighter’s extra atack. Then i attack with pact weapon.. so can i use the Thirsting Blade’s “extra attack”?

    • IlstrawberrySeed says:

      Bonus action attacks are always a single attack, unless staded otherwise. Extra attack and thirsting blade don’t stack with that, yet. I personally believe a feat, high level subclass ability, or even epic boon should do so.

  3. fernando souza says:

    boa pergunta mano , tambem tenho duvidas quanto a isso , porem eu acho que nao pois na correcao do phb diz “If you gain the Extra Attack class feature from more than one class, the features don’t add together. You can’t make more than two attacks with this feature unless it says you do (as the fighter’s version of Extra Attack does). Similarly, the warlock’s eldritch invocation Thirsting Blade doesn’t give you additional attacks if you also have Extra Attack.” e como pra voce bater com a outra mao voce usa uma bonus action acredito que nao stacka mas fica a duvida ai

  4. Ed says:

    We all get that “Extra Attack” is not a separate “Attack Action”, but rather an extra attack that was a part of the original “Attack Action” and as such “Thirsting Blade” does not apply to it. However, “Action Surge” allows you to take an “ADDITIONAL ACTION” which is a new and separate action. You can choose any legal action, of which “Attack Action” is one of them. It is a separate attack, not an Extra Attack and therefore “Thirsting Blade” should apply to it as stated “whenever you take the Attack Action on your turn”. Extra Attack only lets you attack and is not a free action, “Action Surge” as written is an additional free action. so why wouldn’t Thirsting Blade apply to it?

  5. Jon says:

    Thirsting Blade only applies to your pact weapon, so if you have another weapon in your other hand, you should be able to attack twice (or more) with that weapon using Extra Attack, and then twice with your pact weapon via Thirsting Blade.
    You can use two weapons and get full ability mods using this method with Extra Attack, so I see no reason why Thirsting Blade, in this one instance, shouldn’t stack because it is limited to one weapon.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.