@JeremyECrawford Got a question about the Arcane Trickster's Magical Ambush: pic.twitter.com/QW3SsBWJBS
— BlueNagash (@blue_nagash) August 3, 2017
Magical Ambush works with any spell that forces a creature to make a saving throw. #DnD https://t.co/bXpzIrlVp5
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) August 3, 2017
3 thoughts on “Does Arcane Trickster Magical Ambush impose disadvantage on Area of Effect/line spells?”
Starting at 9th level, if you are hidden from a creature when you cast a spell on it, the creature has disadvantage on any saving throw it makes against the spell this turn.
Seems pretty clear cut to me. If you’re casting a spell, and it affects a creature, and you are hidden from that creature, and it has to make a saving throw, it has disadvantage on that saving throw.
The only way I could see to insert ambiguity into the reading would be to focus in on the exact phrasing of “when you cast a spell on it”. What does that mean, exactly? It’s not an established mechanical term.
So how to proceed? Well, when a term is not established to mean a certain thing, the rule is that you interpret it as you would in normal English.
When you “Target” a creature with a spell, are you casting a spell on it? Yes.
When you “Affect” a creature with a spell, are you casting a spell on it? Yes.
When an enemy is within the AoE of a spell, are you casting a spell on it? Yes.
There’s no real situation in which you force a creature to roll a saving throw against a spell you’ve cast, in which you could be said to NOT cast a spell on it.
For some reason, Jeremy Crawford’s response isn’t appearing on this page (for me, anyway).
Here’s the tweet: https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/893249557668085760
“Magical Ambush works with any spell that forces a creature to make a saving throw.”
Thank you so much mighty v2blast
now is correct