Continual Flame on item then brought into area with Darkness spell?

2 thoughts on “Continual Flame on item then brought into area with Darkness spell?

  1. This seems incorrect to me.
    A spell upcast is a spell of the level it is upcast as.

    Contrast this with how Globe of Invulnerability states it:
    “Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can’t affect creatures or objects within it, even if the spell is cast using a higher level spell slot.”

    This is a specific rule to counter upcasting lower level spellls, why would this be necessary if:

    “If any of this spell’s area overlaps with an area of light created by a spell of 2nd level or lower, the spell that created the light is dispelled.”

    Was enough?

    • Derek Sheridan says:

      Luckily, Mike also tweeted another response when the OP clarified that Continual Flame would be cast as a 3rd Level Spell:

      Sage Advice here is incorrect / incomplete, it doesn’t show the entire picture… 3rd Level CF beats any Level of Darkness because 3rd Level CF is a 3rd Level spell, but Darkness specifically mentions it dispels 2nd Level or lower (which would still be RAW if it was upcast, since there are no “At Higher Levels” caveats…

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.