@mikemearls Can a co-operating mimic, polymorphed into the right object, be used as the (Non-consumable) component of a spell? O.o
— Cleric-of-Zarconis (@ZarconistPreist) November 17, 2016
By rules, no, the mimic just looks like the object. However, I'd allow it but make something really weird & regrettable happen. #wotcstaff https://t.co/gxDU9qkA7p
— (((Mike Mearls))) (@mikemearls) November 17, 2016
One thought on “Can a co-operating mimic be used as the component of a spell?”
Haven’t been able to find this answer: In AD&D there was a ritual that could be performed where an individual would bind themselves, over the period of many days, to a legendary tree in order to gain powers; the catch was that it could make one insane or even kill such the one undergoing the ritual.
If you know the answer, please contact me! email@example.com