Divine Smite is for ‘melee weapon attacks’ so is it ok for my Monk/Paladin to use with Unarmed Strikes?

According to the Official Sage Advice Compendium:
Can a paladin use Divine Smite when they hit using an unarmed strike? No. Divine Smite isn’t intended to work with unarmed strikes. Divine Smite does work with a melee weapon attack, and an unarmed strike can be used to make such an attack. But the text of Divine Smite also refers to the “weapon’s damage,” and an unarmed strike isn’t a weapon. If a DM decides to override this rule, no imbalance is created. Tying Divine Smite to weapons was a thematic choice on our part—paladins being traditionally associated with weapons. It was not a game balance choice.

3 thoughts on “Divine Smite is for ‘melee weapon attacks’ so is it ok for my Monk/Paladin to use with Unarmed Strikes?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.