@MJStephensWordsSmites: should I read “melee weapon attack” as “with a melee weapon in melee or thrown” or “melee attacks with a weapon”? If you're referring to the text in a monster stat block, it means a melee attack with something that counts as a weapon.
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) October 28, 2014
@glricker44need a ruling. Can I use pact magic to use divine smite? nope – smite specifies paladin spell slot
— Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) November 24, 2014
@SeldenNeil @glricker44 @AnonVonZilch @JeremyECrawfordIn that earlier post, you said that ‘paladin’ is reduntant. Can you clarify please? that's right – my mistake. You can use any slot with it. Slots aren't tied to a class
— Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) November 26, 2014