Ask a question

I’M NOT A DUNGEONS&DRAGONS DESIGNER, I reply if I have a right answer but my answers are not official.
I’m just a librarian that collects and study designer answers.

If you need an official answer you could ask directly via Twitter to Master Jeremy @JeremyECrawford or contact

2,640 thoughts on “Ask a question

  1. Sean says:

    Dimension Door states: “You can also bring one willing creature of your size or smaller who is carrying gear up to its carrying capacity. The creature must be within 5 feet of you when you cast this spell.”

    It feels like there’s an intention of being able to touch that willing creature. If they’re within 5 feet, but separated by a thin wall, or if they’ve been swallowed by something, the within “5 feet” & “willing” parts of this can be technically satisfied without the caster having any line of effect to grab the person they’re teleporting with.

    Despite not mentioning any actual touch or line of effect, were touch or line of effect part of what was originally intended when writing this spell?

  2. Sean says:

    Does the watcher Paladins “Aura of the sentinel” count as being proficient in Initiative rolls? Considering bards and harengone I know grant half and full proficiency respectively. It says “Grants a bonus” as opposed to allows you to use your proficiency bonus.

  3. Oren Hammerquist says:

    This is mostly a RAI question. If an enemy is unconscious, the PHB says you can move through that space as difficult terrai n. I assume this means I could step into that space to attack from that space. My question is whether I’m allowed to remain in that space after the attack.

  4. wulf says:

    For a dexterity saving throw against purple’s worm attack, to not be engulfed, does the feat shield mastery allows to add shield bonus to the save ?

  5. MacIain says:

    in the “one grung above” pdf the grung race (and the monster in MToF) has a long jump ability, and it causes it to jump high enough to take fall damage, so rules as written: a low level grung character (or the monster) can jump itself to death, i want to know if this was intened, and if it is, i know for sure homebrew can fix it

  6. Matthew says:

    Hi my question is about the flensing claws from volos and the interaction between the claws and beast barbarian subclass that let’s you grow some and attack twice. I want to know if I can use the flensing claws damage but still get the extra attack .my thinking is along the lines of lady deathstrike and wolverine where you already had mutant potential but had it enhanced by the metal grafts. and the subclass feature makes my hands bones grow larger if that was the case it would be cool if it made my handsize increase from medium creature to large for larger damage dice

  7. daniel says:

    Tbh its not a question but a suggestion to the website
    I’d like to be able to subscribe for new sage advices that i could get an email update whenever theres a new one, could you add a feature like that?

    • Zoltar says:

      Mighty Daniel
      thank you for your request. I’ve activated the Email subscription button:
      DESKTOP: you can find it on the left side column of your browser between D&D CARDS button and Make a Donation.
      MOBILE: tap on Magnifing glass icon and subscribe box is between D&D CARDS button and Make a Donation button.
      It’s completely new, please let me know if it’s workng!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.