Ask a question

I’M NOT A DUNGEONS&DRAGONS DESIGNER, I reply if I have a right answer but my answers are not official.
I’m just a librarian that collects and study designer answers.

If you need an official answer you could ask directly via Twitter to Master Jeremy @JeremyECrawford or contact sageadvice@wizards.com

2,565 thoughts on “Ask a question

  1. Kitanic says:

    In a campaign that i am in i have been collection blood samples and bodyparts from monsters we defeated, so far i got blood vials from Fishmen, Fishmen Crab, Garganos ( a “son” of a water god), Xel’narios (another “son” of a water god), and a orc. I also got the ear of a goblin, the teeth from a water god named Karkanos of Maw, i also collected the poisonous spore from a giant monster who creates monsters using mind control spores, when the monsters it made exploads the spore heavily poisons anyone within a 15feet radius. I will continue to collect samples and other stuff, but my question is, is there a way to combine all of this to make a construct ally or any kind of ally who will follow my orders. And if i do will they get traits from the things i collected?

  2. Damon says:

    If I am a rogue gnome can I hide with my +18 stealth and do a sneak attack to the same person multiple times or just once. And if there are 2 people and I sneak attack and kill one would the other one notice.

  3. Leakys says:

    Oath of Vengeance, Avenging Angel:
    “You emanate an aura of menace in a 30-foot radius. The first time any enemy creature enters the aura or starts its turn there during a battle, the creature must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or becom e frightened of you for 1 minute or until it takes any damage. Attack rolls against the frightened creature have advantage.”
    My question is “the first time” apply only for when an enemy enter the aura (and have to make a save throw every turn if inside the aura) or “the first time” apply on the start of the turn too (so can make enemy frightened only once)?

  4. pstringer says:

    Hi there,

    Thanks for collecting all these answers its really helped me as a DM and sometimes a player – I wanted to ask something regarding channel divinity.

    It cropped up during a game where a player walked into a room asking to ready their channel divinity – in case the “dead” creatures strewn around started to move.

    The discussion centers around whether preparing to use the ability uses up one of the two daily uses (replenished on short or long rest) even if the creatures do not trigger the condition.

    My view was that the character can choose to utter the prayer at the trigger and until that moment it is not used. However it was felt at the table that by readying the character feature, the character is casting it – and holds the power at bay to use (subsequently using up one use of it for the day even if its not activated)

    As the description is brandish the holy symbol and say a prayer – the character could wait to see something that would need it before saying the prayer (triggering the class feature) – and that is can be intentionally held back unless needed.

    Other people at the table felt, that it is something you cast and hold in yourself to release if needed or it dissipates at the end of the turn.

    What do you think?

    Kind regards,

    Swaith.

    • Zoltar says:

      Mighty pstringer
      READY is an Action in Combat.
      I think that every adventurer that go inside a dungeon is “ready”: warriors draw their sword, Rogues charge their xbow, Wizards grab their material components… Everyone is “ready” when you go in a dangerous place.

      • pstringer says:

        Thank you for your reply! And of course I agree, but it did raise the question in
        a combat situation for example should the cleric Ready their use of turn undead, in reaction to something specific happen, and the trigger not occur, have they still used the ability thus spending a charge?

        I could not find a definitive answer, as there seemed to be a lot of conflicting information floating around as to what exactly channeled divinity is, whether it counts as a spell – or an attack, or just an action one takes.

        Would a priest, getting ready – entering a dangerous place, holding their symbol at the ready – and preparing to utter a prayer be holding that power in themselves, or is it created when they speak the words?

        • Zoltar says:

          Sorry for the answer but english is not my first language.
          Now, I think, is clear.
          In the rules theres’s no a direct answer, but the rules say:
          “When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs.”
          Channel divinity say: “At 2nd level, you gain the ability to channel divine energy directly from your deity, using that energy to fuel magical effects.”

          So if Turn undead is a energy as spell I wuold rule that Turn Undead will lost if none will trig the reaction.

          My advice is also to send me a tweet with this question and I’ll retweet it, usually ther are smart players that will answer you.

          Zoltar

  5. Robert Peetsalu says:

    5e spells that enable or prevent teleportation and planar travel have been confusing for me, so I’ve read and compared their descriptions and their various interpretations on the internet and made a hierarchy of what trumps what. Please validate whether I’ve understood them correctly by RAW and if not, point out what would be correct and why.

    List from weakest to strongest:

    Globe of Invulnerability suppresses effects of spells below 6th level on creatures and objects, but doesn’t block casting of these spells. Teleportation spells are surprisingly not affected, as none of them need to target creatures or objects:
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/globe-of-invulnerability

    Wall of Force blocks physical effects of spells, but not visibility nor casting through it:
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/wall-of-force

    Teleportation spells that are cast at an external target and require visibility of it, but are not blocked by Wall of Force, as nothing physically passes through it:
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/arcane-gate
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/dimension-door
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/thunder-step

    Otiluke’s Resilient Sphere blocks casting of spells through its surface, so it blocks previous spells, but not the following ones, as it doesn’t block visibility:
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/otilukes-resilient-sphere

    Teleportation spells that target Self, so aren’t cast through Otiluke’s surface, but require visibility of the target:
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/misty-step
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/far-step

    Leomund’s Tiny Hut blocks both visibility and casting through its surface:
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/leomunds-tiny-hut-ritual

    Teleportation within and across planes targeting Self and requiring no visibility:
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/plane-shift
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/teleport
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/etherealness (Blocked by Wall of Force)
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/forcecage (requires a Charisma save)
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/magic-circle (requires a Charisma save)

    Spells, that block teleportation and planar travel into their area:
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/mordenkainens-private-sanctum
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/hallow with Extradimensional Interference
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/forbiddance-ritual
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/antimagic-field
    https://www.dnd-spells.com/spell/imprisonment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.