@JeremyECrawford #DnD rule Q: Can players use the ready action before initiative is rolled (essentially guaranteeing a free surprise round)?
— Jack Of All Games (@J4ck0fA11G4m3s) September 20, 2016
The options, including Ready, in the "Actions in Combat" section (PH, 192–93) are meant to be used in combat, after rolling initiative. #DnD https://t.co/wqqKrtZw2t
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) September 21, 2016
One thought on “Can players use the ready action before initiative is rolled?”
@JeremyECrawford How is sea travel intended to work on a hex map of kingdom scale (1hex=6miles), while factoring in ocean currents and wind? Currents as described in GOSM say that you are supposed roll a d6 increasing or decreasing movement while moving with or against sea currents within 50miles of shore. You roll 1d4-1 while further out to sea following these same rules. How does that work with wind direction as well, considering you move at half distance while moving against the wind according to DMG? Do you move at double your movement while traveling with the wind?