I had to rule on if a corpse is “equipment” for the purpose of a druid’s wildshape merging the “item” into the new form

One thought on “I had to rule on if a corpse is “equipment” for the purpose of a druid’s wildshape merging the “item” into the new form

  1. D. Walker says:

    “When writing the D&D rules, we didn’t consider corpses to be equipment.”

    God, I hate this mentality so much.

    Kill a deer, throw it over your shoulders, wildshape – oops! Deer doesn’t meld.
    Kill a deer, skin it, make hide armor, wear it, wildshape, the armor melds.

    What if it’s not armor, but just a hide? Doesn’t meld, because its not equipment?
    What if you use the hide as a blanket? Suddenly it counts as equipment?

    Obviously the exact line gets drawn by the DM and differs at each table, but could we at least have less vague definitions that simply “equipment” or “objects”, et cetera? Maybe say that worn and carried equipment melds, unless it is especially “bulky” or “heavy” or something like that? Set a guideline that is easier to work with, and that isn’t so completely arbitrary and unclear as “equipment”?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.