This question came up last night in our home game, and got us into a hugh fight. For the purposes of the Feat provided in the Tal’Dorei Campaign Guide, Spelldriver, does the source casting the spell limit the next spell casted that turn? 1/2 For example if I cast Mass Cure Wounds from a Staff of Healing or using a spell slot of my own, then the next spell should be up to 2nd level, right? It is indiferent where you cast if from for the rules of the feat, or the rules in general, for that matter. 2/2
— Tom (@tomvega96) April 19, 2019
It doesn’t matter if the Spells is cast via a spell slot or by an item you hold, the limitations of spellcasting are the same.
— Matthew Mercer (@matthewmercer) April 19, 2019