Can my halfling barbarian use a great axe?

3 thoughts on “Can my halfling barbarian use a great axe?

  1. Mr. C says:

    Small creatures have disadvantage on attack rolls with heavy weapons. A heavy weapon’s size and bulk make it too large for a Small creature to use effectively.

    • D. Walker says:

      The trick is to get Advantage somehow to counteract the Disadvantage.

      Give the same Gnome Barbarian the Mounted Combatant feat and stick them on a mount bigger than their enemies, and now they can attack normally.

      Plus, since multiple counts of Disadvantage don’t have any affect, they can also be blind, poisoned, prone, et cetera, and still be just as effective. So long as you have the feat, a drunken, blind-folded gnome slumped over the back of a horse on their stomache, weilding an axe far too large for them is just as effective a combative as a typical warrior.

    • Thank you Mr. C for replying here with the rule as well, so those who are curious of the game’s interactions of such a creature with such a weapon are aware of the mechanics.

Leave a Reply to Mr. C Cancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.