Can you cast Dragon Breath on your familiar?

4 thoughts on “Can you cast Dragon Breath on your familiar?

  1. Bartłomiej Walkowiak says:

    Doesn’t make sense at all. In find familiar description it says nothing about attack rolls, but attack itself, breathing any king of harmful energy onto someone or something seems pretty attacky to me.

    • AK says:

      RAW, it is crystal clear. Your feelings of what is “attacky” has no bearing on the matter. If you don’t like it, make up your own rules, but don’t complain about it like a whining child.

    • If there’s ever any question whether something you’re doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you’re making an attack roll, you’re making an attack
      (Player’s Handbook, page 194)

      Rules in RAW are clear, attacks require an attack roll. You can always change them if you’re DMing but them the rules.

  2. J says:

    Futher more in the monster manual it list the creatures actions and specifies which are considered attack actions and dragons breath does not have this qualifier

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.