Adamantine Armor says “any critical hit against you becomes a normal hit.”, but why does it effect spell crits?

One thought on “Adamantine Armor says “any critical hit against you becomes a normal hit.”, but why does it effect spell crits?

  1. D. Walker says:

    Proper answer – it’s a badly named and conceptualized item, which leads to a lot of confusion, and which really should just be changed already with errata.

    The fact that it is both made out of, and named after, adamantine quite naturally leads people to assume that its special powers should come from, and reflect, the special powers of adamantine itself.

    But it doesn’t. It has an entirely separate power that has nothing to do with the adamantine construction, and which instead comes from the magical enchantments on it.

    It really ought to…

    1) Not make any mention of including any Adamantine in the construction…

    2) Have a totally different name like “Merciful Armor” or “Armor of Glancing Blows” which establishes the source of its power as a magic effect…

    …or…

    3) Do both.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.