Can a warlock cast Elemental Weapon on their pact weapon?

One thought on “Can a warlock cast Elemental Weapon on their pact weapon?

  1. D. Walker says:

    This one is easy. The rules for Pact Weapons include the following line:

    “This weapon counts as magical for the purpose of overcoming resistance and immunity to nonmagical attacks and damage.”

    A weapon doesn’t need to -count- as magical unless it -isn’t- magical. Ergo, a Pact Weapon is intrinsically a nonmagical weapon. (With the exception being if you convert an already magical weapon into a Pact Weapon)

    Since we are told over and over that if something is meant to be in the rules, the rules will say so, we know that a Pact Weapon -only- counts as magical “for the purpose of overcoming resistance and immunity to nonmagical attacks and damage”.

    It doesn’t count as magical for any other purpose – if it did, the rules would say so.

Leave a Reply to D. Walker Cancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.