Can I cast a Ritual spell that’s in my spell book, but not prepared?

2 thoughts on “Can I cast a Ritual spell that’s in my spell book, but not prepared?

  1. David Slok says:

    Can a level 1 wizard level 10 cleric cast Drawmij’s Instant Summons from the wizard spellbook as a ritual? The way i read it in the player’s handbook it seems like it, but it seems strange to me.

    • tideoftime says:

      Relative to how spell access is used in multi-classing, the answer would be no — you have 5th level spell slots due to being an (effective) 11th level caster, but you track what you can “x” separately for your respective casting classes. (So the character you example could cast a 5th level cleric ritual, but not a 5th level wizard one because he doesn’t have a casting level that high for that class, just like with any other multi-class example.)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.