When did action surge gain the ability to ignore the one spell and one cantrip limit a turn?

4 thoughts on “When did action surge gain the ability to ignore the one spell and one cantrip limit a turn?

    • John Preis says:

      That “massive wall of text” is no more difficult to read/understand than the PHB — it’s sectioned, listed, and addresses various questions beneath those listed sections. It should take a reasonable person no more than roughly 30 seconds to scan through the general headers then narrow down to the question (or close enough to it) that they’re looking for. Regardless, Jon’s response covers it for you/others.

  1. Jon says:

    There isn’t and never was a “one spell and one cantrip per turn” rule.

    IF you cast a bonus action spell, THEN you can can only cast a cantrip with your action. If you don’t cast a bonus action spell, then that rule doesn’t say anything and there aren’t any restrictions.

    So you can cast a spell using your action, counterspell a counterspell with your reaction, then action surge to cast another spell with your second action all without an issue. As long as you don’t cast a spell using your bonus action, you’re golden.

    • Diimiitrii says:

      You can even cast a cantrip if you multiclassed enough to get Spare the dying fe as bonus action.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.