@frozensolid78 @JeremyECrawfordContinual Flame (cast at L3+) on item, then brought into area with Darkness spell? What’s lighting condition? the flame is dispelled, per the darkness spell description
— (((Mike Mearls))) (@mikemearls) July 22, 2016
@frozensolid78 @JeremyECrawfordContinual Flame (cast at L3+) on item, then brought into area with Darkness spell? What’s lighting condition? the flame is dispelled, per the darkness spell description
— (((Mike Mearls))) (@mikemearls) July 22, 2016
This seems incorrect to me.
A spell upcast is a spell of the level it is upcast as.
Contrast this with how Globe of Invulnerability states it:
“Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can’t affect creatures or objects within it, even if the spell is cast using a higher level spell slot.”
This is a specific rule to counter upcasting lower level spellls, why would this be necessary if:
“If any of this spell’s area overlaps with an area of light created by a spell of 2nd level or lower, the spell that created the light is dispelled.”
Was enough?