Continual Flame on item then brought into area with Darkness spell?

One thought on “Continual Flame on item then brought into area with Darkness spell?

  1. This seems incorrect to me.
    A spell upcast is a spell of the level it is upcast as.

    Contrast this with how Globe of Invulnerability states it:
    “Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can’t affect creatures or objects within it, even if the spell is cast using a higher level spell slot.”

    This is a specific rule to counter upcasting lower level spellls, why would this be necessary if:

    “If any of this spell’s area overlaps with an area of light created by a spell of 2nd level or lower, the spell that created the light is dispelled.”

    Was enough?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.