@JeremyECrawford if a diviner wizard uses Portent to replace an attack roll with advantage, is another die rolled and the higher taken?
— Trey Brumley (@tipbruley) February 5, 2016
A wizard's Portent is meant to replace the roll—after advantage/disadvantage is applied. #DnD https://t.co/WBiIGPfcB1
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) February 17, 2016
@JeremyECrawford thanks! Still a bit confused. Does it replace just one of the die you would roll with advantage or do you not roll at all?
— Trey Brumley (@tipbruley) February 18, 2016
The wizard: "I use Portent!" The d20 (or d20s with adv./dis.) is rolled. Portent replaces the resulting die. #DnD https://t.co/yMxuTdHGit
— Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) February 18, 2016
Ok! So portant does it replace only one die. The other die is roll. Correct?
I’m not quite sure what you’re saying.
Here’s what happens:
Creature rolls with advantage and gets a 17 & a 20. 20 becomes the result.
Diviner replaces the 20 with their portEnt (not portAnt).
Is this still valid after tbe 2018 errata on replacing d20s in advantage/disadvantage?
OK. I have a diviner wizard who has figured out what I consider a “glitch”. They’re facing a big baddie. (Last night it was a Chain Devil.) He casts Command, commands the Chain Devil to “grovel”, and says “I’m using my Portent 1 I rolled this morning, so he AUTOMATICALLY fails.” Suddenly, I have a Challenge 8 critter (3900 XP!) lay down so everybody can take a prone shot at it!?!?! Am I misinterpreting this rule? (I hope.)
That is exactly how it works and why it is arguably the best class feature in 5e.