If a diviner wizard uses Portent to replace an attack roll with advantage, is another die rolled and the higher taken?

5 thoughts on “If a diviner wizard uses Portent to replace an attack roll with advantage, is another die rolled and the higher taken?

    • I’m not quite sure what you’re saying.

      Here’s what happens:

      Creature rolls with advantage and gets a 17 & a 20. 20 becomes the result.
      Diviner replaces the 20 with their portEnt (not portAnt).

  1. Randy says:

    OK. I have a diviner wizard who has figured out what I consider a “glitch”. They’re facing a big baddie. (Last night it was a Chain Devil.) He casts Command, commands the Chain Devil to “grovel”, and says “I’m using my Portent 1 I rolled this morning, so he AUTOMATICALLY fails.” Suddenly, I have a Challenge 8 critter (3900 XP!) lay down so everybody can take a prone shot at it!?!?! Am I misinterpreting this rule? (I hope.)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.