Was it ever said whether a Bard can retrain spells gained through Magical Secrets, or not?

3 thoughts on “Was it ever said whether a Bard can retrain spells gained through Magical Secrets, or not?

  1. John says:

    That ruling actually sucks. So the next question is when a bard qualifies for magic secrets at 10, 14 and 18 (and 6 for lore bards) do you have to select the spell then or can you opt to select the spell when you reach higher levels. For example a lore bard waiting until 7th level to pick up a level 4 non-traditional spell.

    • G. Sumner Hayes says:

      The rules are intentionally designed to prevent players abusing it in that manner to circumvent the spell level restrictions. You pick when you get your Magical Secrets (nothing allows you to delay that choice), and you can only pick spells of a level you can cast at the time the selection is made. A Lore Bard’s 6th level Magical Secrets are limited to at most 3rd level spells.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.