@TadenRifwith improved divine smite, does the additional damage also add to thrown melee weapons damage (unlike basic divine smite) ? no, but honestly adding smite damage to ranged weapon attacks isn't breaking anything. just don't add it to spells
— Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) September 18, 2015
@TadenRifyou mean, adding smite damage to range attacks made with melee weapons, I believe…
no, basically any weapon. Rules don't allow it, but iirc that's more flavor than balance at work.
— Mike Mearls (@mikemearls) September 20, 2015