One extra bonus action

11 thoughts on “One extra bonus action

  1. Steve says:

    Then what are the Bonus Actions that can be done per the Action Surge “and a possible bonus action”, (that is what is written in the Players Handbook)

    • Zoltar says:

      Mighty Steve

      Every Bonus Action that your character can do
      For example: a Fighter can in his turn:
      Move > Attack Action > use Action Surge (another Attack Action) > and use Second Wind as Bonus Action .

  2. Raphael says:

    Why does it say “and a possible bonus actions”? I don’t understand the reason to say it if that is already a rule. It seems repetitive.

    • Zoltar says:

      Action surge gives you a generic Action (PHB p.192) like Cast a Spell, Dash, Disengage, Dodge… not just Attack Action.
      For example Disengage and Dodge can’t give you a Bonus Action.

      So I think that “…and a possible bonus actions” is a reminder to clarify that you can make a Bonus action just if you use particular class features, spells, and other abilities.

      • Steve says:

        Action Surge – a generic Action and a possible “Bonus Action”, so the question is, can the Bonus Action be an attack with a light finesse weapon?

      • Steve says:

        Pg 189, It is written that you can have “One Action”, but it does not say you can not have more than one action; and Bonus Action does say “You can take only one Bonus Action per turn”; Move > Action > use Action Surge (another Attack Action) > and use Second Wind (or Light/Finesse Weapon) as Bonus Action
        Thank you, you have made that clear to me now

Leave a Reply