Mobile feat vs Sentinel feat

Astonishing Raphael,
Yes, Mobile Feat don’t provoke OA but sometimes could be tricky because Sentinel feat could hit a Mobile Feat character with a reaction (and not a OA).

I try an example:
Gord the Monk (Mobile Feat)
Konan the Fighter (Sentinel Feat)
Sonja the Paladin (no Feat)

In his turn Gord try to attack Konan with a unarmed strike, and after moves to hit Sonja, (near 5 feet from Konan) he don’t provoke OA from Konan (thanks to Mobile feat 3rd bullet point VS Sentinel feat 2nd bullet point), but Gord can be hit by Konan as a reaction (Sentinel feat 3nd bullet point).

I understand, could be boggy and the last word is always from your DM (or from Master Jeremy)

2 thoughts on “Mobile feat vs Sentinel feat

  1. PHB description of reaction says “The opportunity attack, described later in this chapter, is the most common type of reaction.” OA uses your reaction, they’re not separate.

    • Zoltar says:

      Smart Chris,

      Thanks for your reply, it’s very tricky, because Sentinel Feat last bullet don’t says: “When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a target other than you provoke opportunity attacks from you “.
      The Sentinel Feat 3rd bullet point rule don’t specify (like the second bullet point) that provoke oppotunity attack but just a generic reaction that you can use.

      I understand, could be boggy and the last word is always from your DM (or from Master Jeremy)

Leave a Reply